FoldersSynchronizer can automatically mount local volumes, disk image volumes and remote volumes before starting any sync/backup session. You cannot add a volume to the "Auto-mount Volume List" manually. FS will do that for you. Whenever you define, either on the Console panel or on the Multiple list, a source or destination folder, FS will add its related volume to the "Auto-mount Volumes List" in order to re-mount that volume later. Currently FS supports "Auto-mount Volumes" feature on afp, webdav ( iDisk ) and smb (PC-Windows) remote volumes, local volumes and disk image volumes. Please let us know other kinds of volume you would like FS manage as well. We will add them.

When defining the source and the destination folders on a given FS session, originally you have to mount your remote volume using the Finder command "Connect To Server", then once you see the remote volume on your desktop, define your source or destination folder on FS. Mounting the remote volume originally using other commands can make FS doesn't recognize that volume later.


You can go to the Auto-mount Volumes panel choosing the same command from the Options menu in order to activate this feature and edit/add some mount volume informations, like the username and password.



  1. Auto-mount Volumes On: mark the check-box "Auto-mount Volumes On" in order to activate and edit the Auto-mount Volumes List.

  2. On: the first column reports the state of each single row. "•" means that the row is active. "-" means that the row is not active and the volume will not be mounted. You can switch between On and Off state simply clicking on this cell.

  3. Mount: click on this button to tell FS to mount all the volumes in the list immediately. FS will not mount a volume if its row is not active (see above). It's useful to check the auto mounting feature just when defining a backup/sync.
    If you are going to mount remote volumes, please don't forget to activate the connection to your remote volumes (FTP on, File Sharing on, Remote Machine on, Cable Plugged...).

  4. Unmount: click on this button to tell FS to unmount all the volumes in the list immediately. FS will not unmount a volume if its row is not active (see above). It's useful to check the auto un-mounting feature just when defining a backup/sync.

  5. Delete a row: to delete a row, click on the cell holding down the ALT key.



Define the volume parameters

For each row of the list you can click on the non-empty cells and edit the mount volume parameters. You cannot edit an empty row of the list.

In order to add a volume to the list, simply go to the Console panel or to the Multiple List panel and define a source or destination folder. FS will update the Volume List automatically.

You can edit each single volume information clicking on each non-empty row of the list. You will be shown the Set Volume dialog (see picture below) reporting the following informations.




  1. Address: it's the address of the volume (e.g. afp://1.2.3.4/VolumeName).

  2. User Name: it's the user who mounted the volume. FS will auto-mount the volume later using this account.

  3. Password: in case of volumes requiring a password, if you define the password on this panel, you will not be asked to fill with the password in order to mount the remote volume later. This option is useful when the sync/backup has to be launched by a timer, that is, without an operator.
    If you defined the password, FS will encrypt and store the passwords in the FS document (if saved) and in the template document available at:
    (Home)/Library/Preferences/FoldersSynchronizer 3.0 Template.plist, and will set its permissions to rw-------, such a way nobody else but you will be able to open/run/copy/delete that document. The addresses of remote volumes without password will be shown with orange color in the list. For these volumes, at the backup/sync time, you will be asked to fill with the password in order to mount the volume.

    If you already defined the volume password to the keychain, you could avoid to define the password in this field. Anyway FS will auto-mount the volume without asking for the password.


  1. Unmount after Sync/Backup Session: if marked, at the end of the sync/backup of the current session, FS will unmount the volume. FS, as default, when adding a new volume to the list, unmarks this check-box for local volumes, and marks it in case of remote and disk image volumes.

  2. Try Mount: click on this button to tell FS to mount this volume immediately. It's useful to check the auto-mounting feature on that volume just when defining a backup/sync.

  3. Try Unmount: click on this button to tell FS to unmount this volume immediately. It's useful to check the auto un-mounting feature on that volume just when defining a backup/sync.

    Then press OK to confirm your changes.


How FS auto-mounts volumes

Once you finished to edit the list, press Apply to confirm your changes to the list. If the check-box Auto-mount Volumes On is on (you will see the icon "Auto-mount" on the drawer view greened-out), before executing each single session, FS will first mount all the active volumes listed in the "Auto-mount Volumes List". At the end of the sync/backup of the current session, FS will unmount all the active volumes in the list having the the check-box "Unmount after Sync/Backup Session" marked.

 

Auto-mount Volumes